A Year With No Summer

Obsidian Kingdom - A Year With No Summer


Produced by Jaime Gómez Arellano.

Co-produced by Jorge Mur and Obsidian Kingdom.

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Jaime Gómez Arellano in Orgone Studios, London; Fall 2014.

Art Direction by Ritxi Ostáriz, Elena Gallén and Obsidian Kingdom. Designed by Ritxi Ostáriz and Elena Gallén.

Released by Season of Mist in March 2015.


Watch the teasers here. Watch the recording sessions here.


Obsidian Kingdom’s epic new album keeps pushing style boundaries yet one step beyond. Ridden with crushing bass lines and overwhelming synths, the songs flirt elegantly with alternative rock, electronics and extreme metal to offer a full-bodied and brooding experience. Equally devastating and uplifting, this record is just the perfect soundtrack to the next apocalypse.

With a grunge aura and a dark electronic twist, A Year With No Summer drifts further away from the path of convention and deeper into unexplored territory, equally in debt to Neurosis as it is to The Smashing Pumpkins, Peter Gabriel or the Deftones.

Produced, recorded, and mixed by the much sought-after Jaime Gomez Arellano (Paradise Lost, Ghost, Ulver), Obsidian Kingdom’s sophomore album combines the heaviest of sounds with the lightest of soundscapes to create a colorful and despairing atmosphere, as dreadful and radiant as the dawn of a new age.